Some Backup Fun

Well I just finished backing up my music collection using DAR. It’s been a while since the last time I’ve done this, and it ended up taking a lot longer than I had planned. At least DAR allows differential backups, otherwise I would have wasted my whole day. When all was said and done, I ended up using 20 CD-R’s. I really hope the prices on Recordable DVD drives drop soon, it would be great to back up to DVD’s instead, so I don’t have to screw around with so many discs. As is, restoring my music collection takes around 39 CD-R’s.

Now, I just need to backup some of my less critical files, and I can go watch tonight’s West Wing. Luckily, if I run late my trusty TiVO will record it.

Leave a Reply

