Changing Over To Fedora

Well, I’ve spent most of this afternoon putting the stable release of Fedora on my desktop. Overall, their installer is probably the best in the Linux world, and the only problem I had was that it had a hell of a time detecting my video card (An old Voodoo3).

For the most part, it’s fairly similar to Redhat 9, the most noticible change is in the package management. They are supporting Apt and Yum repositories to handle package dependencies. Luckily, I found the Fedora wiki that gave a good overview on how these are to be set-up. Now, I’ve just got to get some of the multi-media stuff set-up, and I’ll be good to go.

Leave a Reply

