Great Seal State Park

Great Seal Park Trail

Yesterday, I went to Great Seal State Park, since I figured it would be one of the few mountain bike trails in Central Ohio that wouldn’t be too wet. It’s only a 40 minute drive from Columbus, so it’s reasonably close, and it’s far enough south, that it actually has some decent elevation changes.

Once I arrived at the park, I was greeted by the following sign at the trailhead.

Great Seal Trailhead Sign

Naturally, I figured they were blowing smoke about the trail being that strenuous, because after all this is Ohio, not California or Colorado. Once I got out on the trail, though, I found out they weren’t kidding. Unlike the western mountainous states, Ohio doesn’t believe in switchbacks on their trails, so the 500 foot climb in a quarter mile distance, just about killed me. If I hadn’t been on the verge of dying, I would have taken a photo from atop the climb, since it gave a pretty cool view.

Overall, it’s a sweet place to ride, and I might head back there next week, if we don’t get any rain this week.

Leave a Reply

