Flickr Gallery

After reading some of Ken‘s posts about Flickr, I’ve been keeping an eye on it to see if I want to use it in the future. The only thing I’m not thrilled about with Flickr is that they use Flash to display full-sized images on their site. While looking around at plugins for WordPress, I came across Flickr Gallery, which allows you to display your Flickr photos and photosets on your site like a photo gallery using the Flickr’s API. Here’s some of it’s features:

  • Flickr photosets as “albums” – complete with descriptions and meta.
  • Support for Flickr “notes” feature – just this plugin uses all CSS and Javascript instead of Flash.
  • EXIF data support to display camera settings the photo was snapped with – in addition to the description and meta info from Flickr
  • Valid XHTML output.
  • Option to respect photos marked “private”.
  • Thumbnail size choices.

An example installation can be found here. I haven’t taken any photos in a while, but I might now, so I can try this out.

2 Comments »

  1. /k said

    The Flash angle really doesn’t bother me since this is just when you view the photos on their site.

    However, the Flickr API stuff is really cool. Between Google, Flickr, bloglines and the National Weather service, there is some cool things happening with Web Services.

  2. Brian said

    It’s weird when I go to Flickr, my browser bogs down like no tomorrow, while trying to navigate their site. Editing my photosets on Flickr isn’t fun at all.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

