Sun Java Desktop System

Finally got around to installing the Sun JDS onto my system today. Overall, it was fairly painless install, except that I wish that I had installed it first, and then install FC3. The reason being that whichever desktop is installed last, is who’s GRUB is used to handle bootloading duties. Since FC3 tends to get a bunch of new kernels, I’ll need to boot into the JDS, and manually add the GRUB information for the new FC3 kernel. Where if I was using the FC3’s GRUB, it would be automatically added when the kernel was installed. Oh well, I’ll know better the next time.

Now I just need to see if my microphone will work under the JDS, and why the desktop doesn’t fit properly on my monitor with the correct resolution (which is probably due to my video card).

Leave a Reply

