Hard Drive Issues, Again…

Boy, the last couple of months I’ve had more hardware issues, than I’ve probably had the prior four years. Tonight, while listening to Rhythmbox, the music suddenly cuts out in the middle of a song. My first thought is that my router has screwed up due to a power outtage, since it’s not on a UPS, and all my music is located on a seperate server. After a quick check, though, that turns out not to be the problem. So, I then decide to look at my server, and quickly browse the file directory on the hard drive which contains my music files. At this point, my server decides to freeze, which forces me to do a hard boot. Once my server starts up again, I check my log files, and come across this:

Jan 23 18:32:44 xxxxxx kernel: hdd: irq timeout: status=0xd0 { Busy }
Jan 23 18:33:12 xxxxxx kernel: hdd: status error: status=0x00 { }
Jan 23 18:33:12 xxxxxx kernel: hdd: drive not ready for command
Jan 23 18:33:12 xxxxxx kernel: hdd: status error: status=0x00 { }
Jan 23 18:33:12 xxxxxx kernel: hdd: drive not ready for command
Jan 23 18:33:12 xxxxxx kernel: hdd: status error: status=0x00 { }
Jan 23 18:33:12 xxxxxx kernel: hdd: drive not ready for command
Jan 23 18:33:12 xxxxxx kernel: hdd: status error: status=0x00 { }
Jan 23 18:33:12 xxxxxx kernel: hdd: drive not ready for command
Jan 23 18:33:40 xxxxxx kernel: end_request: I/O error, dev 16:41 (hdd), sector 62495
(And more of the same…..)

Crap. Doesn’t look good for my secondary hard drive, which contains all my music files, but at least my OS is on a different hard drive. So, I run an fsck.reiser on the drive (/dev/hdd) to see if the filesystem has been corrupted. After a couple of minutes, it reports that it doesn’t find anything wrong. At this point, I try to connect my desktop machine to the server, and play music. I’m able to mount the drive fine, but once I begin to play music, the hard drive once again freaks out. I reboot my server again, and decide to take a break and grab something to eat.

After grabbing something to eat, and talking to Ken (who mentioned that he just picked up one of those new Mac Mini’s), I get back to facing my server problem. In a futile attempt, I try again to connect from my desktop, and lo and behold, it now works. I can only guess that I’m having a problem with the hard drive’s controller. Hopefully, it’s just the cable coming loose, which I’ll look at tomorrow, but for now at least I’ve got music again.

Update: After working for about 30 minutes, it decided once again to give up the ghost. D’Oh!

Leave a Reply

