Libraries & Linux

Columbus_Downtown_Library

Went to the downtown library today, since I haven’t been there in awhile. Pretty amazing how much it’s changed since I use to go down there with my dad and brother in the late 70’s to use the computers they had in the basement. I believe we were playing with a couple of Commodore PET 2001‘s back then, though I could be wrong. The library has since then added a giant wing behind the original building, and moved all they materials there, and converted the original building into offices for the library staff. Next time I’m down there, I’ll have to take a photo from the side of the building to show how frickin’ large the addition is. I ended up checking out Harvey Pekar‘s latest collection American Splendor: Our Movie Year, which should be a pretty interesting read.

self

Now that spring weather is almost here, I’m gonna try to take more photos this year. To start off this new challenge, I’ll start with the old tried and true mandatory ‘self-portrait shot taken with extended arm’™. The hardest part will be remembering to actually take photos while I’m out doing stuff, but hopefully with warmer weather I’ll be more inclined to do it while riding.

I’ve been fairly busy the last few days working on packaging the upcoming FreeCiv 2.0.0 release (basing it on the current Beta 8 release). It’s gonna pretty much be a total rewrite for the spec file, though it will it include clients for Gtk+ 1.4, Gtk+ 2.x, and Xaw. If anyone is interested, here’s what I’ve got so far: freeciv spec file. The build requirements still aren’t all there, since I’m still getting failures in my chroot. Looks like most of the patches the were in the Fedora FreeCiv 1.14.2 package can be dropped, since they appear to be fixed in the upcoming 2.0.0 release. I still need to create a Desktop Entry Spec for the Freeciv server, but it’s not like it will be very time consuming to add. I would like to get it included in the upstream package before the 2.0.0 release, though, so I won’t need to add a patch to the Fedora Extras package.

1 Comment »

  1. Dad said

    When did you convert to Technobabble? You were right we were playing with the Commodore Pet at the library. Now there is a lesson for all fathers – never ever thing your kids aren’t paying attention!!

    Nice self portrait – need to work on lighting and background! See your room is as messy as ever! 😉

    Nice web posting and just ignore the heckling from Texas.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

