Ubuntu

Screenshot

Last weekend, I ended up loading the latest version of Ubuntu on an empty partition to give it another look. For a relatively new distro, it’s pretty amazing how far they’ve come in such a short time. In some ways, they are already ahead of Fedora, just in the sheer number of packages available. As such, it gave me a chance to easily play with some of the new Mono applications that are being worked on, since they are easily installed from the Ubuntu repositories. The one application that most impressed me was Muine, a music player. The interface is probably the best I’ve seen so far, very intuitive to use, unlike the many iTunes and WinAmp clones out there. The only downside is that it depends on Mono, which adds a hell of a lot of bloat to it. As such, I’ll be sticking with Rhythmbox for the time being. Also, in the above picture, I’ve got an example of the contact lookup applet pulled up with my card. The applet ties into Evolution data server, so I just need to type my contacts last name, and select the appropriate contact.

Leave a Reply

